New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 22264

People Online:
Visitors:
Members:
Total: 0
Duel2.Com: Forums

Duel2 :: View topic - Basher's "well suited"
 Forum FAQ  •  Search  •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   •  Register  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

View previous topic Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Nordheimer
Unchartered Poster

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 1:52 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Up front I want to say I am totally new at this game so this is just food for thought, take it or leave it as you choose. (In fact I am still waiting for my first rollups to comeback with overviews). So I don't claim to have any experience with the workings of this game on ours (the players) side or the moderators/computer side. I have been doing a fair amount of reading to try and gain some insights on how to set up for and play this game with/out totally getting my butt handed to me. Anyway I keep reading that people seem to think that it would intuitively make sense for a basher to be well suited with the fist as a weapon but they are not. The first time I read that I thought well, not really, but, then I keep seeing this time and again. And maybe at first glance it would be... Idk... Wasn't to me. I postulate this. In the basic description for the style it says "Bashers have no use for finesse--a basher just slams his foes and rains blows upon until they fall to the ground". To me this reads like they just swing at their foe regardless of the foes defensive posture, attempting to batter (bash through) their foes parries and armor etc. with no real regard to trying to swing past them (ie miss the parry hit the man) or aim for unarmored spots. Envision this, a Basher goes out to fight armed with a fist and then proceeds to slam and batter his opponents blocks and parries and helmet and armor etc. The opponent blocking, say, with a dagger or short sword or even a shield smiles wickedly and raises his blocking(parrying) arm and wat